Translations of this page:

Zotero Storage FAQ

What is Zotero Storage?

Zotero Storage provides online storage space for your Zotero files, allowing you to synchronize PDFs, images, web snapshots, and other files among all your computers, share your Zotero attachments in group libraries, and access files via your online library on zotero.org.

You can always save an unlimited number of files to your local Zotero library, with or without Zotero Storage.

How do I sign up for Zotero Storage?

Simply visit your Zotero account profile and select a storage plan.

How can my entire lab or university or company sign up for Zotero Storage?

Zotero Lab and Zotero Institution provide members of your organization with unlimited personal and group cloud storage.

How do I pay for Zotero Storage?

All major credit cards are accepted for payment. Institutions can also pay via bank transfer.

What if I don't have a credit card or my credit card doesn't work?

If you don't have a credit card or you encounter problems after trying to pay via your storage settings page, then we can invoice you via PayPal. Please send an email to storage@zotero.org including your Zotero username and the quantity of storage you would like to purchase (2 GB, 6 GB, or unlimited).

Will files stored in my groups be freely available to other members of those groups?

Yes, any groups that you own will draw from your storage subscription. Any members of those groups may freely access any stored files.

How do I allocate storage between my personal library and my groups?

Your personal library and any groups you own automatically draw their storage from your subscription. Groups not owned by you draw their storage from the group owner's subscription.

How can I change my current storage plan?

You can switch the storage plan you're currently subscribed to at any time from your storage settings.

When you switch to a new plan, you aren't charged for the new plan immediately — your expiration date is simply adjusted based on the prorated balance of your previous plan. The first charge at your new subscription level will be made at your new expiration date.

Example: It's February 2022, and you have 6 months left on a $20 2 GB subscription, with an expiration date in August 2022. (6 months ÷ 12 months) x $20 = $10 remaining value. If you upgrade to the $60 6 GB plan, we apply that $10 to your new subscription level to set a new expiration date. ($10 ÷ $60) * 12 months = 2 months, so your new expiration date will be two months from now, in April. You still only paid the original $20 last August, and you'll be charged $60 for the first time in April.

(The one exception is if you have less than 2 weeks remaining in your subscription. In that case, the unused balance will still be applied as time to your new subscription, but we'll charge you for the new plan right away.)

Will my subscription renew automatically?

When you purchase a storage subscription, you may choose to renew or not to renew automatically each year. You can cancel automatic renewal at any time from your storage settings. You'll also receive a reminder email when your subscription is expiring or about to renew automatically.

How do I cancel my subscription?

If you opted to renew your subscription automatically, you can cancel your next renewal by visiting your storage settings. As stated in the Terms of Service, paid accounts are non-refundable. We implement this policy because costs incurred on our end fluctuate dramatically according to individual usage patterns.