Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
kb:sync_reset_options [2018/01/18 14:51]
dstillman
kb:sync_reset_options [2020/01/29 10:29] (current)
dstillman [Restore to Online Library]
Line 5: Line 5:
 **Before using any options on this page, make sure to first [[:​zotero_data#​backing_up_your_zotero_library|back up your Zotero library]].** ​ **Before using any options on this page, make sure to first [[:​zotero_data#​backing_up_your_zotero_library|back up your Zotero library]].** ​
  
-===== Restore to Online Library =====+===== Replace ​Online Library =====
  
-"Restore to Online Library"​ allows you to overwrite an online Zotero library with data from your local Zotero database. This can be useful if you've made unwanted changes to a Zotero library locally and those changes have already synced to the online library, or if changes were made on another computer and uploaded to the online library but those changes haven'​t yet been synced to your current computer.+"Replace ​Online Library"​ allows you to overwrite an online Zotero library with data from your local Zotero database. This can be useful if you've made unwanted changes to a Zotero library locally and those changes have already synced to the online library, or if changes were made on another computer and uploaded to the online library but those changes haven'​t yet been synced to your current computer.
  
-Note that "Restore to Online Library"​ is only necessary when you want to undo changes already applied to the online library. It isn't necessary if you've simply made changes locally that you want to sync. For example, if the online library is empty and you add many items locally, those items will automatically be uploaded — the local items won't be deleted simply because they don't exist in the online library. Similarly, if you delete many items locally, those deletions will automatically be synced to the online library without your needing to take any special action.+Note that "Replace ​Online Library"​ is only necessary when you want to undo changes already applied to the online library. It isn't necessary if you've simply made changes locally that you want to sync. For example, if the online library is empty and you add many items locally, those items will automatically be uploaded — the local items won't be deleted simply because they don't exist in the online library. Similarly, if you delete many items locally, those deletions will automatically be synced to the online library without your needing to take any special action.
  
 ==== If the online library contains unwanted changes that also exist in your local database ==== ==== If the online library contains unwanted changes that also exist in your local database ====
  
-Temporarily disable auto-sync in the Sync pane of the Zotero preferences,​ restore your local data from either an external backup you made or one of the automatic backups in the Zotero data directory, and then use "Restore to Online Library"​ to upload that version of your library. See [[:​zotero_data#​restoring_your_zotero_library_from_a_backup|Restoring Your Zotero Library from a Backup]] for specific instructions for your situation.+Temporarily disable auto-sync in the Sync pane of the Zotero preferences,​ restore your local data from either an external backup you made or one of the automatic backups in the Zotero data directory, and then use "Replace ​Online Library"​ to upload that version of your library. See [[:​zotero_data#​restoring_your_zotero_library_from_a_backup|Restoring Your Zotero Library from a Backup]] for specific instructions for your situation.
  
 ==== If the online library contains unwanted changes that haven'​t yet synced to your current computer ==== ==== If the online library contains unwanted changes that haven'​t yet synced to your current computer ====
kb/sync_reset_options.txt · Last modified: 2020/01/29 10:29 by dstillman