Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
zotero_data [2019/09/01 04:02]
dstillman [Backing Up Your Zotero Library]
zotero_data [2019/09/01 04:05] (current)
dstillman
Line 52: Line 52:
 For step-by-step,​ illustrated backup instructions,​ see [[http://​libguides.northwestern.edu/​content.php?​pid=68444&​sid=676064|this guide provided by the Northwestern University library]]. For step-by-step,​ illustrated backup instructions,​ see [[http://​libguides.northwestern.edu/​content.php?​pid=68444&​sid=676064|this guide provided by the Northwestern University library]].
  
-===== Restoring Your Zotero ​Library from a Backup =====+===== Restoring Your Zotero ​Data From a Backup =====
  
 Between manual backups, automatic backups, and synced data, it's often possible to restore a lost Zotero library or restore data that was accidentally deleted. Between manual backups, automatic backups, and synced data, it's often possible to restore a lost Zotero library or restore data that was accidentally deleted.
Line 59: Line 59:
  
  
-==== Restoring ​your Zotero ​library using Zotero ​syncing====+==== Restoring ​Your Zotero ​Data Using Zotero ​Syncing====
  
 If you were using Zotero syncing and have an empty local library, you can likely restore your data simply by syncing with your online library. After verifying that your library is correct on zotero.org, simply reenter your username and password in the Sync pane of the Zotero preferences and click the Sync button in the toolbar. (Zotero only syncs explicit deletions, so just syncing an empty library won't overwrite the server data **unless you deleted items manually**.) If you were using Zotero syncing and have an empty local library, you can likely restore your data simply by syncing with your online library. After verifying that your library is correct on zotero.org, simply reenter your username and password in the Sync pane of the Zotero preferences and click the Sync button in the toolbar. (Zotero only syncs explicit deletions, so just syncing an empty library won't overwrite the server data **unless you deleted items manually**.)
Line 65: Line 65:
 If you have a local Zotero library that you want to overwrite, close Zotero and delete the old [[#​locating_your_zotero_data|Zotero data directory]] before syncing. Syncing your database with a different Zotero account will also prompt you to remove the existing local database. If you have a local Zotero library that you want to overwrite, close Zotero and delete the old [[#​locating_your_zotero_data|Zotero data directory]] before syncing. Syncing your database with a different Zotero account will also prompt you to remove the existing local database.
  
-==== Restoring ​your Zotero ​library from backup ​====+==== Restoring ​Your Zotero ​Data From Backup ​====
  
 If you were not using Zotero syncing (or were but don't want to perform a full sync) and have a backup of your Zotero data directory, you can restore your library by replacing your active data directory with your backed-up data directory. If you were not using Zotero syncing (or were but don't want to perform a full sync) and have a backup of your Zotero data directory, you can restore your library by replacing your active data directory with your backed-up data directory.
Line 77: Line 77:
 Note that, if you were using Zotero syncing, any changes you made to your library since the backup and subsequently synced to your online library will be applied to your restored database as soon as you sync. If you don't want that to happen, see the following section. Note that, if you were using Zotero syncing, any changes you made to your library since the backup and subsequently synced to your online library will be applied to your restored database as soon as you sync. If you don't want that to happen, see the following section.
  
-==== Restoring ​your Zotero ​library from backup ​and overwriting synced changes ​====+==== Restoring ​Your Zotero ​Data From Backup ​and Overwriting Synced Changes ​====
  
 If you or someone else made unwanted changes to your Zotero library and synced those changes to your online library, you may be able to restore data by using a local backup of your Zotero data directory. If you or someone else made unwanted changes to your Zotero library and synced those changes to your online library, you may be able to restore data by using a local backup of your Zotero data directory.
Line 90: Line 90:
 If you're happy with the results, you can re-enable auto-sync and continue working. If you're happy with the results, you can re-enable auto-sync and continue working.
  
-==== Restoring ​from the last automatic backup ​====+==== Restoring ​From the Last Automatic Backup ​====
  
 If you make a critical mistake while using Zotero — for example, if you accidentally delete a large set of items — you may be able to revert to the last automatic backup. Note that automatic backups contain only data, not files. If you make a critical mistake while using Zotero — for example, if you accidentally delete a large set of items — you may be able to revert to the last automatic backup. Note that automatic backups contain only data, not files.
Line 105: Line 105:
 If you're happy with the results, you can re-enable auto-sync and continue working. Keep zotero.sqlite.old until you're sure all your data is intact and in sync across all your computers. If you're happy with the results, you can re-enable auto-sync and continue working. Keep zotero.sqlite.old until you're sure all your data is intact and in sync across all your computers.
  
-==== Restoring ​from the last upgrade backup ​====+==== Restoring ​From the Last Upgrade Backup ​====
  
 When you upgrade to a major new version of Zotero, Zotero will automatically update your database to work with the new version. If you would like to revert to a previous version of Zotero at a later point, you will have to manually replace your database with the automatic backup Zotero made during the upgrade. In most cases this will be the highest-numbered "​zotero.sqlite.[num].bak"​ file in your Zotero data directory. When you upgrade to a major new version of Zotero, Zotero will automatically update your database to work with the new version. If you would like to revert to a previous version of Zotero at a later point, you will have to manually replace your database with the automatic backup Zotero made during the upgrade. In most cases this will be the highest-numbered "​zotero.sqlite.[num].bak"​ file in your Zotero data directory.
zotero_data.txt · Last modified: 2019/09/01 04:05 by dstillman